Tags

, , , ,

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 016

Here’s a typical sight in Seattle. This ugly wall is home to even uglier moss.

Seattle, Washington, version 2016, has become overpopulated. Some of the culprits were actually born here. (Including me; however, I was raised in the Eastern Washington desert, and had to wait until 1974 to return to my birthplace.) Where was I? Oh, yes: we don’t need any more people. Buying houses or paying rent has gotten too expensive for many Seattlites. Our traffic problem, which has always been bad, has only become worse.

I don’t know why anyone would ever want to move here! It’s cold, damp, gray, and moss-covered. If you are planning to relocate, and you need help making the decision to look elsewhere, then please consider this as my gift to you — a photo essay deliberately calculated to dramatically bring you back down to Earth. A very wet, gray Earth.

I went for a walk near my house, through Kinnear Park, where I took these shots, on Tuesday, March 8, 2016. It was a totally normal day in Seattle. I barely managed to find a window between rainstorms.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 086

I took this photo at 3 pm. It looks more like 3 am. You’d expect to see some sunshine at 3 pm. Well, keep looking….

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 031

This poor old Doug Fir tree…. Sooner rather than later, it will be completely overtaken by the ever-present moss.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 054

Dirt. What you are seeing here is the result of soil erosion. So much rain water has flooded the hillside that nothing is left, other than dirt.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 067

As my continued on my walk, I hoped the sun might come out a little. I’ve lived here long enough to know that wasn’t going to happen.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 029

Here we are; it’s almost Spring, and nothing is leafed-out.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 034

More of the same. However, the dying Madrona tree adds a touch of color to the scene. (Note that all of the trees are tagged, in the event of theft.)

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 036

Now this is lovely….

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 039

Another dead tree log. I’m not sure if it’s the insects or the weather who get the credit for the bark being slowly peeled from the log.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 065

Down below, at the Port of Seattle, a cargo ship is taking on more of our Precious Natural Resources, which will soon be transported to China.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 044

Give me a break! I wanna see something growing. Leafing. Budding.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 050

Now, this is really strange. I can only imagine someone was so needing a bit of color that they brought this dream catcher to the park and actually hung it on a tree.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 072

The Emerald City seen through bare branches of our ubiquitous alder trees. In Seattle, alder is considered a “weed tree”.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 080

Seattle parks come equipped with all the modern conveniences.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 095

This was creepy. I felt like I was in the movie, “The Birds”.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 074

Wouldn’t you know? Right when I finished my walk through Kinnear, the sun came out!

Well, if my little photo essay hasn’t convinced you to avoid Seattle; if you insist on coming — I have good news for you: they’re building your new home as we speak. I know, because it’s located about a hundred feet from my senior citizens apartment, where none of us old fogies has had a moment of peace in a year. As in: Bang! Bang! Bang! Thud.

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 100

And I don’t know what the tubes show below are for, but I’m sure one of them is connected to your unit! (I hear unit #5 will be a real palace!)

late winter kinnear trail jaunt 103

And now, for some happy, home-grown music. I was in a band with this group’s drummer, so I am prone to hype their tunes. See my blog story on that….

 

 

