Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m very excited to publish my first comic on WordPress! My wonderfully talented friend Winifred Harrison combined her art with my words, to create it. There will be more!

gene autry

When my brother Al III and I were little boys living in Yakima, Washington on West Mead Avenue, in the early 50’s, we traveled eastward to the “big city” of Spokane, WA to meet Gene Autry, the famous singing cowboy, who was appearing at the Diamond Spur Rodeo. Our Grandpa Bowles was founder and president of the Diamond Spur. We had a wonderful visit. We subsequently fell in love with all things Gene Autry, including his Easter song, “Peter Cottontail”.

Al III is holding the bunny. Photo studio in Yakima, WA, circa 1953.

We were inspired to ask our parents to get us a rabbit. Here is the true account of what happened.

Peter Cottontale comic

And here for your listening pleasure, is Mr. Autry’s iconic song, which he recorded in 1950.

 

